Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior C Round Up

posted 8 Nov 2011, 14:30 by Unknown user   [ updated 8 Nov 2011, 14:53 ]

Junior C FC Rd 1


Rathkenny “C” off Duleek/Bellewstown

Rathkenny overcame Duleek/Bellewstown in this opening round Junior C Championship game played in blustery Donore, last Sunday.

Rathkenny 1-18

Duleek/Bellewstown 0-06

Rathkenny produced a great defensive display in the opening half to go in level at the break, despite playing against the strong gale. Duleek/Bellewstown popped over the opening two points before Colin Curtis opened Rathkennys account. Duleek/Bellewstown moved two in front soon after before Rathkenny hit five in a row to lead by three, the scores coming from Colin Curtis, Denis Nulty, Colm Gore, Cody Reilly and Declan Crosbie. Duleek/Bellewstown responded with the final three scores of the half to leave it all square at the interval.

It was all Rathkenny after the break as ten players ended up on the score sheet as Duleek/Bellewstown ended the game with twelve players. Rathkenny defence held firm as their forward line began to stretch their lead through some good point taking. A fortunate goal from Colin Curtis which caught the Duleek/Bellewstown net minder off guard ended this as a contest with the score at 1-11 to 0-06. A further seven points before the end left Rathkenny with two points in this four team group.

Rathkenny – A. Finney; J. Gore, M. Brien, P. Mullery; P. Downey (0-1), D. Crosbie (0-2), S. Lynn; E. Weldon (0-1), R. Calliff; D. Nulty (0-1), C. Gore (0-4), C. Reilly (0-1); C. Curtis (1-4), M. McBride, B. Kelly (0-1). Subs – T. Rowan (0-1) for Brien, D. Downey (0-2) for Kelly, C. Rock for Mullery, K. Leddy for Reilly, R. Drew for Curtis


Junior C FC Rd 2


Rathkenny edge past Ballivor

Rathkenny recorded their second win in this year’s Junior C Championship after overcoming a dogged Ballivor in Dunderry, last Friday evening, May 13th.

Rathkenny 1-11

Ballivor 0-05

Rathkenny edged closer to a quarter-final berth with this hard fought eight point victory. With ten minutes remaining there was just a kick of a ball between the sides with Rathkenny leading 0-7 to 0-5. However the Rathkenny forwards finally found their kicking boots to pull away, with a late Kevin Leddy goal putting a flattering look to the score line.

Rathkenny started brightly but kicked several wides and Ballivor opened the scoring. A brace from Denis Nulty put Rathkenny in front and subsequent scores from Cody Reilly and two frees from Michael McBride left it 0-5 to 0-2 at the break.

Playing with the slight wind advantage in the second half gave Rathkenny plenty of possession but most was wasted as the wides tally mounted. Cody Reilly steadied matters with a score before Ballivor replied with a point. Substitute Tom Rowan popped over the first of his four second half scores, before Ballivor got a brace to move to within two points. Rowan then added two points in a row before veteran Michael Reid scored a lovely point followed by Rowans final score and Leddys late goal.

Rathkenny – A. Finney; J. Gore, M. Brien, P. Mullery; P. Downey, D. Crosbie, S. Lynn; D. Smith, R. Calliff; D. Nulty (0-2), C. Gore, E. Weldon; C. Reilly (0-2), M. McBride (0-2), B. Kelly. Subs – T. Rowan (0-4) for Calliff, D. Downey for Kelly, M. Reid (0-1) for McBride, K. Leddy (1-0) for Reilly


09.06.2011 Rd 3

Junior C Championship

Rathkenny reach quarterfinals

Rathkenny edged past a determined Cortown in Kilberry last Thursday evening June 9th to qualify for the quarterfinals of the Junior C championship.

Rathkenny 0-12

Cortown 0-05

Rathkenny raced into a four point lead by the ten minute mark, courtesy of a brace from top scorer Colin Curtis, and points from Cody Reilly and Denis Nulty. Cortown halved the lead with two quick points before Rathkenny pushed on through Andrew Crosbie with a lovely score from a tight angle and a further three points from Colin Curtis to lead by six at the break.

Curtis added two further points after the break before Rathkenny retreated a little to hold onto their lead. Cortown kept plugging away and were rewarded with three second half scores, but Rathkenny had closed out the game with scores from Cody Reilly and the impressive Curtis.

Rathkenny – A. Finney; P. Mullery, M. Brien, P. Downey; J. Gore, D. Crosbie, S. Lynn; D. Smith, R. Calliff; C. Curtis (0-8), C. Gore, D. Nulty (0-1); C. Reilly (0-2), T. Rowan, A. Crosbie (0-1).

Subs – M. Reid for Calliff, B. Kelly for Crosbie, C. Rock for J. Gore, D. Downey for Reilly, R. Drew for Rowan.



Junior C Championship Quarter Final

Oldcastle advance to semis

Oldcastle had too much in the tank for a valiant Rathkenny side in this Junior C quarter final clash held in Moynalty last Sunday afternoon, August 21st

Oldcastle 2-13

Rathkenny 1-09

Rathkenny got the better of the earlier exchanges and were leading after quarter of an hour with scores from Michael McBride, Derek Smith and Richie Timmons. Andrew Crosbie finished to the net after a great through ball and Denis Nulty popped over to make it 1-04 to 0-01. Oldcastle got a goal on seventeen minutes to keep in touch and added another point four minutes later. Timmons and McBride extended Rathkennys advantage before Oldcastle got an important goal to leave one in it, three minutes before the break. Richie Timmons popped over his third point of the day to leave it 1-07 to 2-2 to Rathkenny at half time.

The second half belonged to Oldcastle as they dominated the midfield exchanges and six points in a row gave them a four point advantage at the three quarter stage. Denis Nulty narrowed the gap to three but that was as close as Rathkenny came, as Oldcastle finished with five further scores when Rathkenny pushed forward in search of scores of their own and left gaps at the back. Richie Timmons finished Rathkennys account with seven minutes remaining.

Rathkenny – A. Finney; C. Rock, M. Brien, P. Mullery; D. Nulty (0-2), S. Lynn, P. Downey; D. Smith (0-1), D. Crosbie; C. Gore, M. McBride (0-2), E. Weldon; A. Crosbie (1-0), T. Rowan, R. Timmons (0-4)

Subs – M. Reid for Downey, R. Calliff for Mullery, R. Price for Rock, B. Kelly for Weldon, K. Leddy for Crosbie